Oh so Pinterest-y!

Many of you are most likely familiar with the popular website PinterestFor those of you that have not heard of the website, it is a site in which people can find creative recipes, craft ideas, fashion tips and much, much more!


Pertinent quotes are uplifting and inspiring and personally, quotes help to propel me forward when I am having a discouraging day or time. One of my favorite past times is to find inspirational quotes relevant to what I am pursuing at the time.

Pinterest for most is a hobby, however the website can be used advantageously when attempting to lose weight, stay or get in shape. Many of us have heard and been told that we are a certain type of leaner.

Personally, I am a very visual person.

What Pinterest allows a person to do, is build a virtual inspiration or dream board. During my first year of college, one of my teachers assigned a dream board project. At the time the project was assigned, I saw it as a fun thing to do but never put much merit to what I could achieve by collectively putting my ideas in a visual manner.

It is easy to lose sight of goals due to the hectic life many of us lead. What a dream board or inspiration board accomplishes, is that of a constant reminder of what you want to do. Hence, you are made more personally accountable for your goals.

The way that I created my dream board in class was by using a poster board and cutting out pictures of what things I want to achieve. To date I have accomplished three things on my dream board.

This new way of creating a dream board via Pinterest is much easier and less time consuming than the way I accomplished my board.

A person first must sign up for the Pinterest website, but no worries it’s free! After signing up, you can choose to link your account to your Facebook account so that you can find friends and then look at what they have “pinned” on their Pinterest accounts.

After signing up and choosing whether or not to link it to your other accounts, you will be able to choose a few pictures out of a collection of pictures for which you respond most to. By choosing these pictures, the Pinterest website then attempts to show you more things that are analogous.

Moreover, Pinterest allows you, the user to create different “folders” to categorize your “pins.” Therefore you are able to create separate folders for things such as healthy recipes, workouts, splurge recipes and even inspirational quotes.

The idea might seem juvenile and pointless at first, but I beg you to attempt to give it a chance. Motivation and inspiration are the two most fundamental facets of continuing to stay on track.

Here is a snap-shot from my personal Pinterest account!

Holding yourself accountable by creating a visual board for which you can look back and see your accomplishments is advantageous. Moreover, as time passes you will most likely want to add to your board because you want to accomplish additional things.

“Always continue the climb. It is possible for you to do whatever you choose, if you first get to know who you are and are willing to work with a power that is greater than ourselves to do it.” – Ella Wheeler Wilcox

Leave a Reply

